You are currently viewing Ind vs Afg 2nd T20 Highlights, Match Result

Ind vs Afg 2nd T20 Highlights, Match Result

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Blog

The second T20 match between India and Afghanistan, held on January 14, 2024 in Indore, witnessed a Indian victory as they chased down a challenging target of 173 with ease. India won match with Afghanistan by 6 wickets.

Afghanistan Batting First:

Afghanistan batted first and done a competitive 172/10 on the board, fueled by Gulbadin Naib’s blistering 57 runs and contributions from Rahmatullah Shah (41) and Karim Janat (20). Despite a slow start, Naib and Nabi (26) do some big hitting, giving Afghanistan a respectable total to defend. Arshdeep Singh emerged as the pick of the Indian bowlers, claiming 3 crucial wickets for 32 runs.

India's Chase:

The Indian chased easily 172 target of Afghanistan. Yashasvi Jaiswal, the young opener, took center stage with a sensational knock of 68 runs, laced with six sixes and four fours. He formed a solid partnership with Shivam Dube (63*), who played the anchor role, guiding India towards victory. Virat Kohli hit a quick 29, and Rinku Singh (9*) finished the match comfortably in the 16th over.


Key Takeaways:

Jaiswal’s Coming-of-Age: The young talent announced his arrival with 68 runs on the big stage with his innings, showcasing immense potential for the future.


Dube’s Consistency: Following his match-winning fifty in the first T20, Dube solidified his position as a valuable all-rounder, scoring another half-century and contributing with a wicket.


Axar Patel’s All-round Show: Patel played a vital role with both bat and ball, picking up 2 wickets and scoring a handy 18 runs in the chase, earning him the Player of the Match award.

Youngsters Stepping Up: With senior players like KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav absent, Jaiswal and Dube proved their readiness for the international stage, demonstrating the depth of Indian talent.

Beyond the Scoreboard:

India’s bowling attack, led by Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik (2 wickets), kept Afghanistan in check initially. However, Naib and Nabi’s late surge tested the Indian bowlers. In response, India’s openers provided a blistering start, and despite losing Kohli and Sharma early, the middle order held firm to secure a comfortable victory.


This dominant win not only secured the series for India but also served as a platform for young players to shine and prove their mettle. With such exciting performances and rising stars, the future of Indian cricket looks bright!

India Playing XI

Rohit Sharma(c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shivam Dube, Jitesh Sharma(w), Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar

Afghanistan playing XI

Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran(c), Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman